View Full Version: Would-be New Members

The Wired > Welcome to The Wired! > Would-be New Members

Pages: [1] 2

Title: Would-be New Members


JJW009 - March 20, 2007 05:47 PM (GMT)
Since the recent splurge of spam-bots signing up to spread the news about various wonderful pharmacies, I'm making the process "email validated". Therefor you'll need to provide a valid email address to sign up in future.

If this doesn't stem the flow of Viagra zombies, then I'll make registration by Admin approval only - in which case you'll have to convince Admin (that's me) that you're here for silliness and not for profit!

This has been a serious moment. :(

Thank you for listening.

Spambot - March 20, 2007 05:56 PM (GMT)
bum I fart in your general direction!

Big_Adam - March 20, 2007 06:32 PM (GMT)
On lo, one too smart for JJ's new system!

belchingmatt - March 20, 2007 06:44 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (Spambot @ Mar 20 2007, 06:56 PM)
bum I fart in your general direction!

That looks suspiciously like a bratty post.

It's certainly cheeky. :lol:

JJW009 - March 21, 2007 02:30 AM (GMT)
Well that didn't bloody work!

danmarino21@lpemail.com

YOU SPAM HEAD!

Access Denied :rant:

JJW009 - March 21, 2007 10:19 AM (GMT)
lol I didn't have to deny access. I got this bounce back:

QUOTE
**** THIS IS AN AUTOMATIC REPLY ****

Your e-mail message (see below) was not delivered.

This user is over quota!


This email account is protected by: LPeMail
For more information visit http://www.lpemail.com

--- Original Message Follows ---

Date: Tue, 20 Mar 2007 21:22:27 -0500
To: danmarino21@lpemail.com
Subject: Registration at The Wired ( From The Wired )
From: "The Wired" <invision@yourwired.net>



DanMarinoP,
This email has been sent from http://forum.yourwired.net/index.php.

You have received this email because this email address
was used during registration for our forums.
If you did not register at our forums, please disregard this
email. You do not need to unsubscribe or take any further action.


so it looks like the email thing is going to help a lot, until the spambots learn to read their mail :lol:

Big_Adam - March 25, 2007 09:18 PM (GMT)
what an intresting sig that bot has.

:whistle:

JJW009 - March 28, 2007 04:40 PM (GMT)
Well it looks like some Spambots can read mail, so I've turned on admin approval.

There may be some delay in registering, since I'm the only person who can authorise it! Sorry for the inconvenience, but I just had to delete about 15 of the stupid things and it's not fun and it's not silly :(

belchingmatt - March 28, 2007 07:26 PM (GMT)
Have you cleared out the deadwood JJ, I can't see any of the jokers (well other than us) in the member list?

JJW009 - March 28, 2007 08:44 PM (GMT)
Yep. Took ages!

JJW009 - March 29, 2007 08:03 PM (GMT)
Misegn: access denied.

I'm afraid anyone with a mail.ru email account will not be approved.

If you are a genuinely silly person who wishes to register but is having difficulty, then please email me directly or send me a PM on another forum if I know you from somewhere else.

Email me at: registrations AT yourwired DOT net

Thank you :D

belchingmatt - March 29, 2007 08:34 PM (GMT)
But if you ban the .ru then none of those russian teens will be able to join.

JJW009 - April 12, 2007 02:33 PM (GMT)
LOL this is true. Any Russian babes please be emailing me directly :lol:

Preferably without asking me to sign up to your subscription webcam service <_<


Latest signup had this as email address:

googlebot@hotpop.com

It's gotta be a joke! Ah well. Again, mail me if you're a real freak and not just a drug pusher. Sankyou!

belchingmatt - April 12, 2007 04:19 PM (GMT)
I think I'm falling in love with my signature. :wub:

JJW009 - April 12, 2007 04:36 PM (GMT)
user posted image user posted image user posted image



I did have them in all different colours :lol:

belchingmatt - April 12, 2007 04:41 PM (GMT)
Phwoar!!!

It also looks like they may be annoying JV and Fin over at Dennis in the rogues gallery thread.

JJW009 - April 12, 2007 04:50 PM (GMT)
Google FTW:

http://ejt.no-ip.org/stuff/fairy_bounce/Fairy_Bounce.html

They be the hearties I were thinkin' of!

belchingmatt - April 12, 2007 04:52 PM (GMT)
Jiggle heaven.

:D :D :D

JJW009 - April 12, 2007 04:57 PM (GMT)
user posted image


:aha:

JJW009 - July 22, 2007 02:37 AM (GMT)
OK i've had about 20 of the f*ckin' things text me today. The next b*gger who signs up without requesting a ticket gets a bazooka up their :rant:

paulpowers - July 22, 2007 03:06 AM (GMT)
what tickets?

JJW009 - July 22, 2007 03:58 AM (GMT)
The metaphorical tickets you get by asking me for one!

Here's the last two fails in the last hour:

asderferdt@mail.ru

ezvvvvezzlzl@mail.ru

FFS like that's a real friendly email address?!

Nuke the F*ckin' Russians!!!

Big_Adam - July 22, 2007 10:23 AM (GMT)
QUOTE (JJW009 @ Jul 22 2007, 03:58 AM)

Nuke the F*ckin' Russians!!!

Shhhhh, they have more than us.

paulpowers - July 22, 2007 03:40 PM (GMT)
but theres are rusting :rofl:

JJW009 - August 6, 2007 07:01 PM (GMT)
OK here's an unusual one:

"alizeesite completed their registration on Aug 6 2007, 01:56 AM using billibob@bonbon.net as their email address."

Alizee is a cute French pop-star who appears on my Last.fm top 100; where I also happen to link to this site as I do pretty much everywhere.

The thing is, Billibob could be a genuinely silly person but "Alizeesite" is just screaming Spam <_<

Anyway - as I've said before - anyone who wants to join and doesn't get their registration accepted within 24 hours please just send me an email and I'll sort it out!

paulpowers - August 6, 2007 07:08 PM (GMT)
:spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: I think it might be a spammer :spam: :spam: :spam:
I want a silly email addy like billibob@bonbon.net
I might have to set up a silly named site just to get the silly email addy I want

JJW009 - August 6, 2007 10:51 PM (GMT)
bonbon.net is a free pop3 site, part of the hotpop.com group.

I already have Textme@phreaker.net and a few others from there.

JJW009 - August 7, 2007 01:39 AM (GMT)
:rofl:

"bobbyorion completed their registration on Aug 6 2007, 10:37 PM using billibob@toughguy.net as their email address."

but obviously not reading this thread because they've not emailed me! If she was that keen to join us you'd think she'd read the threads :lol:

JJW009 - August 8, 2007 06:20 PM (GMT)
"billibobbi completed their registration on Aug 8 2007, 09:44 AM using billibob@gamebox.net as their email address."

Well I guess it's time to see what Billibob has to say for themselves... that's the third registration attempt, and I guess they've still not read this thread. Lets find out!

*registers them*

belchingmatt - August 8, 2007 08:04 PM (GMT)
What makes you think billibob is a woman? I'm sure Angelina Jolie was married to a guy called billiy bob thornton or something.

Should we be having a welcome thread? It doesn't seem quite right for a random stranger, but then we've never really had one of those before. :lol:

JJW009 - August 18, 2007 12:21 PM (GMT)
OK I'm thinking of setting an entrance exam for the forum. This is what I've got so far:

Are you're silly enough?

What do you think? I didn't want to make it hard, or easy...

belchingmatt - August 18, 2007 01:08 PM (GMT)
Signature
Elaborate
Procrastination

Unless they were deliberate, and aside from that it is suitably silly. :D

JJW009 - August 18, 2007 01:10 PM (GMT)
Pie = Procrustination (sic) ;)

Teh others were just bod spelling :lol:

paulpowers - August 19, 2007 11:53 AM (GMT)
Whats the question ???
I DONT GET IT ARGGGGG :rant:

JJW009 - August 19, 2007 08:19 PM (GMT)
LOL

OK here's the latest attempt at registering:

User: Alex.Bitterman

OK so that sounds like a good name? Quake player maybe?

email: info@unicorn-shipping.com

OK now that sounds pretty spammy.

A quick Google digs up:



QUOTE
Hello, my name is Alex Bitterman.

If you are looking for 100% a legit job where you have to work to earn
money not stay to earn money then this is the job for you.

ABOUT US:
Unicorn Shipping Inc - As the world's largest package delivery company and a leading global provider of specialized transportation and logistics services, Unicorn Shipping continues to develop the frontiers of logistics, supply chain management, and e-Commerce . . . combining the flows of goods, information, and funds.


That doesn't sound very silly :unsure:

And guess where they're from?

QUOTE ("IP lookup says:)
IP address:                    217.170.77.210
Reverse DNS:                    [No reverse DNS entry per ns1.spaceweb.ru.]
Reverse DNS authenticity:      [Unknown]
ASN:                            20597
ASN Name:                      ELTEL-AS (ELTEL.net Autonomous System)
IP range connectivity:          4
Registrar (per ASN):            RIPE
Country (per IP registrar):    RU [Russian Federation]
Country Currency:              RUR [Russia Rubles]
Country IP Range:              217.170.64.0 to 217.170.95.255
Country fraud profile:          High
City (per outside source):      Unknown
Country (per outside source):  US [United States]

paulpowers - August 20, 2007 01:34 PM (GMT)
even the spam bots know the answer

JJW009 - August 21, 2007 07:41 AM (GMT)
OK I've now locked registration completely.

To register, simply email me & I'll set you up:

registrations AT youRwired DOT net

thank you.

belchingmatt - August 21, 2007 08:08 AM (GMT)
:rofl:

paulpowers - August 21, 2007 12:22 PM (GMT)
can we keep the survey

JJW009 - August 21, 2007 12:41 PM (GMT)
Yes we can. I may link to that in my sig elsewhere, but I need to pretty it up with the yourwired header and shiz...




Hosted for free by InvisionFree